Press Release

Pressemeldungen

Cardiac Dimensions stellt Gretchen Gary als Vice Presidenten für Global Therapy Development ein

KIRKLAND, WA – 5. März 2020 – Cardiac Dimensions®, ein führendes Unternehmen in der Entwicklung innovativer, minimal-invasiver Therapien für die funktionelle Mitralinsuffizienz (FMI) bei Patienten mit Herzinsuffizienz (HF), gab heute die Einstellung von Gretchen Gary als Vizepräsidentin der globalen Therapieentwicklung bekannt. Frau Gary bringt mehr als 17 Jahre Erfahrung im Vertrieb in den Bereichen structural heart, Schulung und Marktentwicklung mit und wird für die Umsetzung der Geschäftsstrategie des Unternehmens für das Carillon Mitral Contour System® verantwortlich sein.

Frau Gary kommt zu Cardiac Dimensions von Livanova, wo sie die Position des Senior Director of Global Therapy Development innehatte und für die Einrichtung eines multidisziplinären Ärztebeirats zur Entwicklung von Behandlungsrichtlinien für das Patientenmanagement für ein neuartiges Produkt zum Transkatheter-Mitralklappenersatz (TMVR) verantwortlich war. Frau Gary hatte auch Führungspositionen bei CardioKinetix inne, wo sie die Marktentwicklung in fünf Ländern auf drei Kontinenten leitete, und bei Direct Flow Medical, wo sie ein Außendienstteam und eine Schulungsabteilung zur Unterstützung der Durchführung von Zulassungsstudien aufbaute. Zu Garys früheren Erfahrungen gehören Market Development Manager, Direktorin für globale Verkaufsschulungen und Direktorin für Verkauf/Europäischer Country Manager bei Abbott. In diesen Funktionen war Frau Gary für die Marktentwicklung und Kommerzialisierung des MitraClip TMVr-Systems in mehr als zehn Ländern verantwortlich.

“Wir freuen uns sehr, Gretchen Gary im Team von Cardiac Dimensions zu haben”, kommentierte Rick Wypych, Chief Operating Officer von Cardiac Dimensions. “Ihre überzeugende Erfolgsbilanz und ihr tiefes Verständnis des strukturellen Herz Erkrankungen, der Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden und der Wettbewerbslandschaft ist ein enormer Gewinn, wenn wir den Einsatz des Carillon Mitral Contour Systems ausweiten und uns auf die US-Kommerzialisierung in nicht allzu ferner Zukunft vorbereiten”.

Frau Gary kommentierte: “Da die MKS bei Herzinsuffizienz eine verheerende Krankheit ist, ist die Entwicklung von minimal-invasiven Produkten zur Behandlung von Herzinsuffizienz von entscheidender Bedeutung. Ich freue mich sehr, zu Cardiac Dimensions zu kommen, und bin sehr daran interessiert, meine Erfahrung im Bereich der strukturellen Herzinsuffizienz zu nutzen und einen wertvollen Beitrag zu dieser ersten Zulassungsstudie dieser Art zu leisten”. Sie kommentierte: “Ich glaube, dass das Carillon-System das Potenzial hat, das Leben vieler Patienten zu verändern, indem es ihnen Linderung ihrer Symptome verschafft und das Fortschreiten der Herzinsuffizienz verlangsamt.

Die Einstellung von Frau Gary geht der Bekanntgabe der Ergebnisse einer Post-Hoc-Analyse von gepoolten prospektiv gesammelten Daten aus drei Studien zum Carillon-Mitral-Kontur-System mit Schwerpunkt auf der 5-Jahres-Überlebensrate und den Determinanten des Langzeitüberlebens voraus. Die Daten wurden in einer Sitzung mit späten Studien auf der Tagung über kardiovaskuläre Forschungstechnologien (CRT 2020) im National Harbor, MD, vorgestellt und in der Zeitschrift Cardiovascular Revascularization Medicine veröffentlicht. Die Ergebnisse zeigten eine niedrigere Drei-Jahres-Mortalitätsrate im Vergleich zu den veröffentlichten Ergebnissen der COAPT und der leitliniengesteuerten medizinischen Therapie (GDMT). Bei Verwendung übereinstimmender Patientenpopulationen betrug die Gesamtmortalitätsrate des Carillon 33,7% für Carillon, 42,8% für MitraClip bei COAPT und 55,5% bei GDMT. Primäre Determinanten des Langzeitüberlebens waren eine Abnahme der NYHA-Klasse, eine Zunahme der 6-Minuten-Geh-Teststrecke und eine Abnahme des Regurgitant-Volumens während des ersten Jahres der Nachbeobachtung.1

Schätzungsweise 26 Millionen Menschen weltweit leiden an Herzinsuffizienz2 und von diesen haben etwa 70 Prozent eine FMR. Die Herzinsuffizienz stellt eine erhebliche klinische und wirtschaftliche Belastung dar, deren direkte und indirekte Kosten bis 2030 voraussichtlich auf 70 Milliarden US-Dollar anwachsen werden.3

Über das Carillon Mitral Contour System®
Das Carillon-System bietet einen einfachen Rechtsherz-Ansatz zur transkathetergestützten Mitralklappenreparatur (TMVr), mit dem die Anatomie und Funktion des Mitralapparats vom Koronarsinus aus umgestaltet werden kann. Distale und proximale Anker, die durch ein formgebendes Band verbunden sind, nutzen die venöse Anatomie des Herzens, um den Mitralapparat zu fixieren, ohne die Klappe oder zukünftige Behandlungsoptionen zu beeinträchtigen.4,5 Das Carillon-System wurde entwickelt, um die primäre Ursache der funktionellen Mitralinsuffizienz (FMR) bei Patienten mit MR-Graden 2+, 3+ und 4+ zu behandeln, und ist das erste und einzige Gerät, das in einer randomisierten scheinkontrollierten klinischen Studie zur perkutanen Klappentherapie eine Reduktion des Regurgitationsvolumens und eine günstige linksventrikuläre Remodellierung gezeigt hat.6,7,8,9

Das Carillon-System ist CE-gekennzeichnet (0344) und wurde bereits bei über 1100 Patienten in den USA, Europa, Australien, der Türkei und im Nahen Osten implantiert. Das Carillon-System wird derzeit im Rahmen der Zulassungsstudie CARILLON untersucht und ist in den Vereinigten Staaten auf den Untersuchungseinsatz beschränkt.

Informationen zu Cardiac Dimensions, Inc.
Cardiac Dimensions ist eines der führenden Unternehmen für die Entwicklung innovativer, minimalinvasiver Therapiemodalitäten zur Behandlung von Herzinsuffizienz und damit verbundener Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen. Das Unternehmen ist in privater Hand und wird von Aperture Venture Partners, Arboretum Ventures, Difference Capital, HostPlus, Life Sciences Partners, Lumira Ventures und M.H. Carnegie & Co. finanziert. Cardiac Dimensions hat seinen Hauptsitz in Kirkland im US-Bundesstaat Washington und verfügt über Niederlassungen in den USA, Australien und Deutschland. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter cardiacdimensions.com.

Medienkontakt
Rick Wypych
rwypych@cardiacdimensions.com
(425) 605-5910

 

  1. Lipiecki J, Kaye DM, Witte KK, et al. Long-Term Survival Following Transcatheter Mitral Valve Repair: Pooled Analysis of Prospective Trials with the Carillon Device. Cardiovascular Revascularization Medicine. Advance online publication. doi:10.1016/j.carrev.2020.02.012.
  2. Ponikowski P, Anker SD, AlHabib KF et al. Heart failure: preventing disease and death worldwide. ESC Heart Failure. 2014;1:4–25.
  3. Heidenreich PA, Albert NM, Allen LA, et al. Forecasting the Impact of Heart Failure in the United States. Circ Heart Fail. 2013;6(3):606-19.
  4. Hoppe UC, Brandt MC, Degen H, et al. Percutaneous mitral annuloplasty device leaves free access to cardiac veins for resynchronization therapy. Catheter Cardiovasc Interv. 2009;74(3):506-11.
  5. Latib, A. “Coronary Sinus Annuloplasty.” New York, Montefiore Medical Center.
  6. Lipiecki J, Siminiak T, Sievert H, et al. Coronary sinus-based percutaneous annuloplasty as treatment for functional mitral regurgitation: the TITAN II trial. BMJ Open Heart. 2016; 3
  7. Siminiak T, et. al. Treatment of functional mitral regurgitation by percutaneous annuloplasty: Results of the TITAN Trial. Eur J Heart Fail. 2012;14:931-38.
  8. Sievert, H. 2018. REDUCE-FMR: A Sham-controlled Randomized Trial of Transcatheter Indirect Mitral Annuloplasty in Heart Failure Patients with Functional Mitral Regurgitation. Presented at TCT 2018, San Diego, CA.
  9. Witte K, et al, A Randomized Sham-Controlled Study of Percutaneous Mitral Annuloplasty in Functional Mitral Regurgitation: The REDUCE FMR Trial. J Am Coll Cardiol, HF I, DOI: 10.1016/j,jchf.2019.06.011

 

 

Cardiac Dimensions, Carillon and Carillon Mitral Contour System are registered U.S. trademarks of Cardiac Dimensions Pty Ltd.

CAUTION-Investigational Device. Limited by United States Law to Investigational Use.


CARDIAC DIMENSIONS hires Gretchen Gary as Vice President of Global Therapy Development

Kirkland, WA – March 5, 2020 — Cardiac Dimensions®, a leader in the development of innovative, minimally invasive treatments for functional mitral regurgitation (FMR) in patients with heart failure (HF), today announced the hiring of Gretchen Gary as Vice President of Global Therapy Development. Ms. Gary brings more than 17 years of structural heart sales, training and market development experience and will be responsible for implementing the Company’s commercial strategy for the Carillon Mitral Contour System ®.

Ms. Gary joins Cardiac Dimensions from Livanova where she held the position of Senior Director of Global Therapy Development and was responsible for establishing a multi-disciplinary physician advisory board to develop patient management treatment guidelines for a novel transcatheter mitral valve replacement (TMVR) product. Ms. Gary also held executive level positions at CardioKinetix, where she led market development efforts in five countries across three continents, and Direct Flow Medical where she built a field team and training department to support pivotal trial execution. Ms. Gary’s prior experience includes Market Development Manager, Director of Global Sales Training and Director of Sales/European Country Manager at Abbott. In these roles, Ms. Gary was responsible for market development and commercialization of the MitraClip TMVr System in more than ten countries.

“We are extremely excited to have Gretchen join the Cardiac Dimensions team,” commented Rick Wypych, Chief Operating Officer of Cardiac Dimensions. “Her strong track record of commercial success and deep understanding of the structural heart space, our customer’s needs and the competitive landscape is a tremendous asset as we broaden adoption of the Carillon Mitral Contour System and prepare for US commercialization in the not-too-distant future.”

Ms. Gary commented, “Because FMR in heart failure is a devastating disease, the development of minimally invasive products for treatment is of critical importance. I am very excited to be joining Cardiac Dimensions and am eager to leverage my structural heart experience and make a valuable contribution to this first-of-a-kind pivotal trial.” She commented “I believe the Carillon System has the potential to change the lives of many patients by providing relief from their symptoms and slowing the progression of heart failure.”

The hiring of Ms. Gary precedes announcement of findings of a post hoc analysis of pooled prospectively collected data from three studies of the Carillon Mitral Contour System with a focus on 5-year survival rate and the determinants of long-term survival. The data was presented in a late-breaking trials session at the Cardiovascular Research Technologies meeting (CRT 2020) in National Harbor, MD and published in Cardiovascular Revascularization Medicine. The results demonstrated a lower three-year mortality rate compared to published outcomes of COAPT and guideline directed medical therapy (GDMT). Using matched patient populations, all-cause mortality rate of the Carillon was 33.7% for Carillon, 42.8% for MitraClip in COAPT and 55.5% for GDMT. Primary determinants of long-term survival were a decrease in NYHA class, an increase in 6-minute walk test distance and decrease in regurgitant volume during the first year of follow-up.1

An estimated 26 million people, worldwide, suffer from heart failure2 and of those, approximately 70 percent have FMR. Heart failure is a significant clinical and economic burden with direct and indirect costs expected to grow to $70 billion by 2030.3

About the Carillon Mitral Contour System®

The Carillon System offers a simple right heart approach to transcatheter mitral valve repair (TMVr) designed to reshape the anatomy and function of the mitral apparatus from the coronary sinus. Distal and proximal anchors, connected by a shaping ribbon, utilize the heart’s venous anatomy to cinch the mitral apparatus, without compromising the valve or future treatment options.4,5  The Carillon System is designed to treat the primary cause of functional mitral regurgitation (FMR) in patients with MR grades 2+, 3+ and 4+ and is the first and only device to demonstrate a reduction in regurgitant volume and favorable left ventricular remodeling in a randomized sham-controlled clinical trial of percutaneous valve therapy. 6,7,8,9

The Carillon System is CE-marked (0344) and has been implanted in over 1100 patients in the U.S., Europe, Australia, Turkey and the Middle East. The Carillon System is currently being studied in the CARILLON pivotal trial and limited to investigational use in the United States.

About Cardiac Dimensions

Cardiac Dimensions is a leader in the development of innovative, minimally invasive treatments to address heart failure and related cardiovascular conditions. Privately held, the company’s lead investors include Aperture Venture Partners, Arboretum Ventures, HostPlus, Life Sciences Partners, Lumira Ventures and M.H. Carnegie & Co. Cardiac Dimensions is headquartered in Kirkland, Washington and has operations in the United States, Australia and Germany. For more information, visit cardiacdimensions.com.

MEDIA CONTACT:

Rick Wypych

rwypych@cardiacdimensions.com

(425) 605-5910

 

  1. Lipiecki J, Kaye DM, Witte KK, et al. Long-Term Survival Following Transcatheter Mitral Valve Repair: Pooled Analysis of Prospective Trials with the Carillon Device. Cardiovascular Revascularization Medicine. Advance online publication. doi:10.1016/j.carrev.2020.02.012.
  2. Ponikowski P, Anker SD, AlHabib KF et al. Heart failure: preventing disease and death worldwide. ESC Heart Failure. 2014;1:4–25.
  3. Heidenreich PA, Albert NM, Allen LA, et al. Forecasting the Impact of Heart Failure in the United States. Circ Heart Fail. 2013;6(3):606-19.
  4. Hoppe UC, Brandt MC, Degen H, et al. Percutaneous mitral annuloplasty device leaves free access to cardiac veins for resynchronization therapy. Catheter Cardiovasc Interv. 2009;74(3):506-11.
  5. Latib, A. “Coronary Sinus Annuloplasty.” New York, Montefiore Medical Center.
  6. Lipiecki J, Siminiak T, Sievert H, et al. Coronary sinus-based percutaneous annuloplasty as treatment for functional mitral regurgitation: the TITAN II trial. BMJ Open Heart. 2016; 3
  7. Siminiak T, et. al. Treatment of functional mitral regurgitation by percutaneous annuloplasty: Results of the TITAN Trial. Eur J Heart Fail. 2012;14:931-38.
  8. Sievert, H. 2018. REDUCE-FMR: A Sham Controlled Randomized Trial of Transcatheter Indirect Mitral Annuloplasty in Heart Failure Patients with Functional Mitral Regurgitation. Presented at TCT 2018, San Diego, CA.
  9. Witte K, et al, A Randomized Sham-Controlled Study of Percutaneous Mitral Annuloplasty in Functional Mitral Regurgitation: The REDUCE FMR Trial. J Am Coll Cardiol, HF I, DOI: 10.1016/j,jchf.2019.06.011

 

 

Cardiac Dimensions, Carillon and Carillon Mitral Contour System are registered U.S. trademarks of Cardiac Dimensions Pty Ltd.